UNIT PRICE = $12.99     QUANTITY =

MEKONG DELTA - Intersections

US Release : STMH260222

STOCK STATUS: IN STOCK - ships in 1 day

Alex Landenburg (drums)
Benedikt Zimniak (guitar)
Erik Grösch (guitar)
Martin Lemar (vocals)
Ralf Hubert (bass, guitar)
Ralf Hubert (guitar)
Produced by: Erik Grösch, Ralf Hubert
Engineered by: Chris Beck
Mixed by : Erik Grösch, Ralf Hubert
Mastered by: tbd
Germany's Mekong Delta plays an unconventional brand of progressive thrash. They released in 1987 their conceptually unified Mekong Delta debut, which not surprisingly delved into the Vietnam War. Next came 1988's The Gnome EP and H.P. Lovecraft-inspired The Music of Erich Zann LP -- all of which drew much critical acclaim and saw the band sometimes described as a Teutonic response to Canadian prog-thrashers Voivod. Membership changes began to take place behind the scenes with Uwe Baltrusch's replacement of Kelch for 1989's The Principle of Doubt album (which was loosely based on Stephen R. Donaldson's dark fantasy trilogy, The Chronicles of Thomas Covenant, the Unbeliever), and by the release of 1990's Dances of Death, Fricke too was gone, Doug Lee had replaced Borgmann, and all of the fake names had finally been dropped, save for Jörg Michael's, since he remained under contract elsewhere. Mekong Delta's music continued to surprise and astound, thanks to the steady infusion of classical music elements into their ever-adventurous prog-thrash. Though these elements had already featured to some degree on all of Mekong Delta's prior releases, it was 1991's Live at an Exhibition in-concert document that first hinted at a particularly strong fixation on the works of Russian composer Modest Mussorgsky, which the band later explored in full with an orchestra-backed recording of Pictures at an Exhibition in 1997. In between, drummer Peter Haas had joined the group for albums like 1992's Kaleidoscope and 1994's Visions Fugitives, but after the release of the aforementioned orchestral project, Mekong Delta went into an extended hibernation, as sporadic rumors swirled concerning the supposed exile and/or death of prime mover Ralph Hubert. In keeping with the band's past history, however, all of this speculation proved to be just that and, come 2007, Hubert convened a brand-new Mekong Delta featuring singer Leszek Szpigiel, guitarist Peter Lake, and drummer Uli Kusch for new album Lurking Fear, which by all accounts proved as reliably quirky and unpredictable as anything that fans might have expected from this mysterious group.
We accept the following forms of payment:
Our shopping cart is fully encrypted and secured by
N.E.H. Records
7915 Oxford Road, Niwot, CO 80503, USA
Email: mmcpherson@nehrecords.com
Phone: (303) 652-0199