UNIT PRICE = $15.99      QUANTITY =

BLACKFOOT - Tomcattin

European Import : Candy180

STOCK STATUS: IN STOCK - ships in 1 day

Click song title to play
Rick Medlocke (guitar, vocals)
Charlie Hargrett (guitar)
Jackson Spires (drums, vocals)
Greg Walker (bass)
Produced by: Al Nalli, Henry Weck
Engineered by: Henry Weck
Mixed by: Henry Weck
Digitally Remastered by: Jon Astley

Southern US rock practitioners Blackfoot initially comprised Rick Medlocke (guitar, vocals), Charlie Hargrett (guitar), Greg Walker (bass) and Jakson Spires (drums, vocals). The quartet shared common origins with Lynyrd Skynyrd (Medlocke co-writing four songs and singing lead on two tracks on the latter's platinum First And Last ) and in turn offered a similar blues/rock-based sound, centred on their leader's confident playing. Medlocke himself was the grandson of Shorty Medlocke, a popular Jacksonville, Florida bluegrass musician of the 50s, whose "Train, Train" was successfully covered by Blackfoot and, in the 90s, Warrant. Rick Medlocke took the name Blackfoot from his own native Indian tradition. Session pianist Jimmy Johnson produced Blackfoot's early work at the revered Muscle Shoals studio, but despite this impressive pedigree, the group was unable to translate an in-concert popularity, especially in the UK, into record sales. Blackfoot Strikes, the unit's first release for Atlantic / Atco Records, offered a heavier perspective, while the cream of their early work was captured live on Highway Song. After these releases, the group bowed to record company pressure and pursued a more commercial approach that was not always convincing. Ken Hensley,  formerly of Uriah Heep, joined the line-up for Siogo and Vertical Smiles, and was eventually replaced by Bobby Barth of Axe, but Blackfoot was disbanded following the latter's release. The name was revived at the end of the decade with a revised line-up, with Medlocke backed by Neal Casal (guitar), Rikki Mayer (bass, ex- Lizzy Borden ) and Gunner Ross (drums). However, none of these members remained for Blackfoot's 1994 album with new label Bullet Proof/Music For Nations, with Mark Woerpel (guitar, vocals, ex-Wardrive), Benny Rappa (drums, vocals) and Tim Stunson (bass) stepping in to support the venerable Medlocke. Rappa was replaced by ex- W.A.S.P. drummer Stet Howland for touring.

We accept the following forms of payment:
Our shopping cart is fully encrypted and secured by
N.E.H. Records
7915 Oxford Road, Niwot, CO 80503, USA
Email: mmcpherson@nehrecords.com
Phone: (303) 652-0199